This week I lost my Virginity…

This is a blog about my first time… my first real experience of exhibiting at a show… on Wednesday I lost my virginity!! This is a follow-up blog to The Shoe is on the other Foot http://wp.me/p1PIh3-6u

An adrenalin fuelled start to the day; anyone who has been in a car when Adam Brooks of Sales Academy 2012 (http://www.salesacademy2012.com/) is driving will understand. Getting stuck in traffic on the M32 (gotta love Bristol) meant that we were running late but we made it in time to set up just before the doors opened for business.

WOW I talked a lot on Wednesday; and anyone who knows me knows that I am rarely short of something to say. I didn’t even get to try the amazing coffee from CVS (http://www.completevendingservices.co.uk) until gone 11am.  There were so many interesting people there; the lovely ladies in red were fantastic and as well as providing a needed chocolate fix; they also had the most amazing red shoe phone (www.redvirtualoffice.biz) that I really wanted to steal!! Had great chats with former recruiter Tracey Holloway who offers fantastic bespoke tailoring from www.suitthecity.com, all of the guys from Office Doctors, were great fun and a huge support (http://www.officedoctors.co.uk) as I look around my little office space now… think I need a bit of advice!!! The first speaker of the day was Adam Laidler of The People Experts who offers a completely different recruitment solution (http://www.thepeopleexperts.co.uk); certainly a very interesting concept and I look forward to some collaboration in the future.  I have a little confession at this point… on Wednesday I did something I have never done before – I ‘fist-bumped’ with someone (I am so down with the kids these days). I Refer to Michelle Mills-Porter of Monkey Marketing, Phone Genius and Uber Groups – I cannot remember why we did it but it really made us both laugh (http://www.ethosdevelopmentltd.com/). I think my favourite stand award has to go to Richard Dobson at mazprint (http://www.mazprint.com/) – Pink Goldfish… very clever (and yes, of course I am after a discount on my printing). I click my heels (I would take my hat of to them but I don’t tend to wear one) to all at Talking2Minds (http://www.talking2minds.co.uk) the inspirational PTSD charity and the awesome work that they do. Bruce Martin is currently training very hard for his latest fundraising event… the Kilimanjaro trek; you can follow is story at http://www.bruce-martin.blogspot.co.uk and please visit http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/BruceMartin66 and do the obvious.

The only challenge to the day was the lack of time that we had to make badges and give badges away (learning here is to make a few before we start). The Badge It was brilliant and people loved it, I know a few purchases have been made already off the back of me saying well if it’s good enough for Kylie… and you know what if I can use it anyone can! As many of you will know the Badge It was given to me by my good friends at Bandai UK (www.bandai.co.uk). Those of you who showed an interest and those of you who are intrigued take a look at http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/9367005/Trail/searchtext%3EBADGE+IT.htm it’s a fantastic product and one that will be seen (and better utilised I promise) at future events.

On a personal note I have been a visitor at shows for years and I often comment that my feet are ok and my shoes are not hurting… you know what I 2 days at ToyFair walking constantly is easier on the feet that one day standing still!!! I click my heels to everyone who exhibits at these events they are killer… and now I understand the flat shoe thing (I won’t ever do it but I understand it).

I think it is fair to say that everyone had a great time. Credit and thanks for that go to Tracey and Neil Davis for creating such excellent events… it’s like being part of a family… an odd family where EVERYONE actually gets on and wants to speak to each other!!

The next event is in Gloucester http://www.thebusinessgrowthshow.co.uk/events/gloucester on Friday 22nd June and I would urge anyone in business to attend… if you want to get noticed then you have to get out from behind that desk, click your heels together three times and make it happen. I look forward to seeing you there.

11 thoughts on “This week I lost my Virginity…

  1. And another great thing about the shows are people actually want to do business…the dynamic is awesome. It’s a fusion of business networking, speed dating, exhibiting and selling from the stand…I love the shows and more importantly the exhibitors, delegates and speakers make it educational, exciting and a place where you earn your money and more from one show.

    I am exhibiting at Gloucester and many more…You would be daft to miss these. Spread you network, spread your wings, grow your business and get out there…people will find it hard to find you if you don’t put yourself out there.

    Finally, from one networking tart to another, Mand the shoes worked and the banter was awesome. Look forward to more shows with you.

  2. What an awesome blog and such an abundant way to deliver FREE PR to some awesome people.

    It was a fab day….but one question….What is wrong with my driving!? (OK, probably what is right would be an easier question)

    Great show, great people, great business to develop from the show. Here’s to next time.

  3. Fantastic blog, love the style and as posted above, what a great way of sharing and giving free PR to others. The show itself was brilliant too and I for one am looking forward to the next one – in fact I’m enjoying it already!!

    • Thanks Bruce, I love writing them so its great to hear that people like reading them too… I do blog about recruitment sometimes too but it tends to get me into trouble!!!

  4. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is really frustrating. A good web site with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  5. Very Cool Blog – abundance in action…
    I had the priviledge of Speaking at a show organised bt Neil and Tracey, these events reflect the people who make them so special – great atmosphere, business minded people and good fun too…
    Looking forward to attending more..

Leave a Reply

