Jessie J Pricetag … No…Really!

Another normal day for Birchwood. Whizzing about doing 100 things at once, driving back from an appointment in Gloucester had a really positive conversation with my business coach and then a bit of me time with the radio in my lovely new car before an afternoon of laptops, phones and work. In a press of a button Jessie J and Price Tag…

“Seems like everybody’s got a price

I wonder how they sleep at night

When the sale comes first and the truth comes second

Just stop for a minute and smile”

Love this song and always have to crank up the volume (I am a bloody brilliant singer, my son recently advised me that I could go on X Factor when I had been tuned up) listening to the words they could not be more accurate.

As people we all have a “price”, we all have the line that we will not cross. I am sure Jessie J was not thinking about recruiters when she wrote this song but it would appear that the line for recruiters is blurry, muddy, and you know what? I do “wonder how they sleep at night”. Look on any recruiters website and you see the words you want to hear as a client or a candidate – ethical, caring, passionate, dedicated, quality, best practice, committed, perfect match. In response to this?

Having been in recruitment for 14 years now and been in different business types I know the reality can be very different. Morals go out of the window when you are faced with massive pressure to place. Recruitment is fast paced and the expectation from business owners for their consultants to bill is massive. But at what cost?

Honesty is the only policy for me… for 2 reasons. Firstly, I really do care; I work in a very niche market. The UK toy sector has been an incredible support to me over the years and I would feel disloyal to my trade if I was not giving people an honest picture, whether it is relating to how a company is under the surface or what a candidates background really looks like. Secondly, I am too bloody busy to be telling lies!

For me, it really “Aint about the Cha-Ching, Cha-ching”.  And “the Ba-Bling Ba-Bling”  is a happy consequence of doing what I love which is bringing people together. Whether it is at trainee level for Sambro International, Senior level for MGA or a multiple expansion plan with Vtech I love what I do, I will go the extra mile for each and every client and candidate. However… NOT at any cost! I will not lie for you, and if you are not truthful I will find out. I am particular about who I represent on both the client and the candidate side (it is my decision who I work with and I take that very seriously). My integrity and the integrity of Birchwood is important to me and I will not jeopardise my business for the sake of an ‘easy fee’. So when I hear of other recruiters who are quite obviously living by the mantra “… the sale comes first and the truth comes second’”I really do “…stop for a minute and smile”. I know I am ethical in what I do. I know my clients and candidates respect me for that. They may not always be easy conversations but they are honest.

Don’t believe me? Take a look at my testimonials or pick up the phone and ask people… I dont expect people to take my word for it x

Leave a Reply

